Although earlier Methodists had met in a building further down the road in Silver Street from 1825,
the present Chapel has a Certificate of Registration for Worship dated 17th September 1866.
While located in a Conservation Area, the building is not itself listed.
There was once a stone cross on the roof above the church, and large doors behind the pulpit. It has a balcony
typical of many Methodist Churches, but there is more than the usual amount of stained glass. The Sunday School rooms at the rear
of the church seem to have been added or altered at a later date, as the plaque over the door is dated 1873.
The area in front of the church on the left facing the church was once a pond for washing carts. This was covered over to form a brick-arched reservoir, which was first mentioned in property deeds of 1821. The reservoir is still there under the lawn to hold approximately 31,500 gallons of water, but is now empty and owned by Bristol Water.
Extensive refurbishment took place in 2004 to provide a flexible and comfortable worship area with access for the disabled throughout the ground floor. The footpath to the right of the entrance was altered in 2008 to a ramp for ease of access to the Church and Hall for wheelchairs, pushchairs etc.
Our congregation comprises a wide age range, from babies to 90+ years. It is a friendly Christian family where all are welcome to worship God, share joys and burdens, and enjoy fellowship. We have a variety of forms of worship, led by our ordained Ministers and Local Preachers, where we can meet with our Great God in the quietness, or in the sounds of praise and thanksgiving. We seek His Holy Spirit together, learn more of His love for each of us through Jesus Christ, and experience His touch on our lives.